Sales to Minors
CHECK ID, Stop When RED
No lottery sales to minors
North Carolina General Statute 18C-131 (d) prohibits the sale of lottery tickets to a person under the age of 18 years.
The NCEL is constantly monitoring and enforcing this law through various means, including random checks. So always ask for identification prior to the sale of any lottery ticket.
How can I tell if a purchaser is younger than 18 years of age?
Check their ID ! On North Carolina driver’s licenses and identification cards check for the red border around the photo. If the border is red – STOP the sale, even if they tell you they are 18. Encourage the player to update their license so the red border will be removed.
If there is a question about the players age and proper identification is not available, do not sell a ticket at that time
What will happen if I sell lottery tickets to someone younger than 18 years old?
If YOU violate this statue, YOU will be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. YOU will go to court to pay an estimated $50 fee along with the estimated court cost of $150.
The individual responsible pays this fee.
It may result in suspension or termination of your Lottery Retailer Contract.
Retailers who submit subsequent applications for new contracts risk being rejected for up to one year.
We appreciate your continued support with helping to create a brighter future for North Carolina’s students!
MONOPOLY © 2014 HASBRO.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
LICENSED BY HASBRO.